UC News

Teen smashes record double ton

Teen smashes record double ton

Bengaluru, October 16

Seventeen-year-old Yashasvi Jaiswal struck a blazing 203 as Mumbai beat Jharkhand by 39 runs in their final Elite Group A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here today.

The left-handed Jaiswal, at 17 years and 192 days, became the first male teenager in the world to score a double-century in List-A cricket. Before him, the youngest was Alan Barrow, who scored a double ton at the age of 20 years, 273 days in South Africa in 1975.

Jaiswal’s knock comes just days after Kerala wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson hit an unbeaten 212 in the tournament.

Jaiswal’s knock was the ninth instance of an Indian scoring a List A double-ton, and he joined the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma and Virender Sehwag in elite group. Jaiswal had stayed in the tent of his club in south Mumbai during his early days as he could not afford to rent a house, and sold paani puri in the streets before he was spotted by coach Jwala Singh.

Riding on Jaiswal’s 154-ball knock, Mumbai posted 358/3. Jaiswal struck 17 fours and 12 sixes and also built a 200-run stand with Aditya Tare (78 off 102 balls).

Delhi beat Haryana

Vadodara: Delhi registered a seven-wicket win over Haryana in a Group B match here today. Spinners Manan Sharma (3/39) and Nitish Rana (2/19) took the bulk of the wickets as Delhi dismissed Haryana for 172 in 45.3 overs after opting to bowl. Though Shikhar Dhawan (26 off 42) fell cheaply for the fourth time in five innings, Delhi raced to the target in 30.3 overs.

Punjab hammer Maharashtra

Punjab’s bowling attack, led by medium-pacer Sandeep Sharma, blew away Maharashtra before their batsmen chased down the 66-run target with considerable ease in their Group B match here today. Sharma took four wickets, while spinners Mayank Markande and Karan Kaila took two each as Maharashtra were bowled out in 27.2 overs. — Agencies

Vijay Hazare Trophy

Brief scores

Mumbai: 358/3 (Yashasvi Jaiswal 203, Aditya Tare 78) vs Jharkhand: 319 (Virat Singh 100, Saurabh Tiwary 77; Dhawal Kulkarni 5/37); Andhra: 230/6 (Ricky Bhui 58; Midhun Sudhesan 2/15) vs Kerala: 233/4 (Vishnu Vinod 139; Poreddy Reddy 3/27); Tamil Nadu: 274/9 (Murali Vijay 94, Abhinav Mukund 79; Rush Kalaria 3/36) vs Gujarat: 196 (Axar Patel 55; M Mohammed 3/20); Maharashtra: 65 (Sandeep Sharma 4/24, Mayank Markande 2/10, Karan Kaila 2/10) vs Punjab: 66/4 (Sanvir Singh 35*; Satyajeet Bachhav 3/24); Haryana: 172 (Rohit P Sharma 44; Manan Sharma 3/39) vs Delhi: 176/3 (Anuj Rawat 56*; Yuzvendra Chahal 2/37)

Open UCNews to Read More Articles